Abbey Gate College - Saighton Grange Abbey Gate College - Saighton Grange Mobile

The Board of Governors at the College is a highly committed and hard working group who give their time freely to support the leadership team in delivery of the key initiatives outlined in the College’s strategic vision. We still have on the Board a number of the founding governors and parents who took on the task of setting up the College 40 years ago, and continue to support it to this day.

Foundation Governors

Governors who have served not less than 25 years may be offered the position of Foundation Governors. They are entitled to attend, but not vote at, Governor’s meetings and do not have the legal responsibilities of Governors.

All correspondence for the Chairman of Governors should be sent to the following address:

Abbey Gate College
Saighton Grange

Tel: 01244 617 352
Fax: 01244 335 510

Thumbnail image
Mr Andrew Grime BEng MBA CEng MICE FCIWEM

Chair of Governors

Andrew attended Arnold School, Blackpool from 1959-1972 and went on to read Civil Engineering at the University of Liverpool. A career then followed in the water industry and, continuing his academic career, he gained an MBA with distinction from the University of Westminster in 1989.

Following a successful MBO he has now retired from Weetwood, a firm he founded in 1988 to specifically help developers address the water management and wider environmental issues that were increasingly threatening project viability. Locally, he has been heavily involved in the delivery of both the Saighton Camp residential development and the Airfields development at Deeside. Outside of Weetwood, Andrew has held a number of governance positions: President of the Old Arnoldians’ Association in Blackpool, a trustee of Arnold School Development Fund and Governor of Arnold School, Blackpool.

As a previous chair of Chester & District Housing Trust, he is now a Governor of Abbey Gate College where his daughter was a pupil. On a professional basis Andrew helps to foster future potential, acting as a professional reviewer of candidates seeking corporate membership of the Chartered Institution of Water & Environmental Management.

For leisure, since the squash racquet was hung up, he focuses on hill walking and motorcycling.

P Carter

Deputy Chair of Governors; Curriculum and Learning Committee Member; EFYS Governor

J Brown

Finance and Bursaries Committee Member

E Bunting

Finance and Bursaries Committeem (Chair)

F Crewe

Estates and Compliance Committee (Chair)

Canon J Dussek

Pastoral and Wellbeing (Deputy Chair); PREVENT Governor

S Gardner

Pastoral and Wellbeing Committee (Chair); Curriculum and Learning Committee Member; Careers Governor; GDPR Govenor

R Hoyle

Promotions and Communities Committee (Chair)

T Stanley

Finance and Bursaries Committee Member; Promotions and Communities Committee Member; PHSE and RSE Governor

D Stenhouse

Curriculum and Learning Committee (Chair); MAGaT, ECT and SEND Governor

B Wake

Company Secretary; Estates and Compliance Committee

D Bunting

Member (Foundation Governor); Finance and Bursaries Committee

N Dutton

Member (Foundation Governor); Estates and Compliance Committee

J Robinson

Member (Foundation Governor); Estates & Compliance Committee